Joe Buck Gets Surprised on Live TV with Pro Football Hall of Fame Announcement

From Pro Football Hall of Fame

Joe Buck and his dad, legendary announcer Jack Buck, share the distinction as the only father and son to each call a Super Bowl on network television.

Tonight (Thursday Sept. 18, 2020) they became the first father-son combination to receive the Pete Rozelle Radio-Television Award, which is presented annually by the Pro Football Hall of Fame in recognition of longtime exceptional contributions to radio and television in professional football.

“For 26 years, the entire lifetime of FOX Sports, Joe Buck has been a voice bringing the Game to life for fans of NFL football,” said David Baker, president and CEO of the Pro Football Hall of Fame, who surprised Buck with the announcement during halftime of Thursday night’s Cincinnati Bengals at Cleveland Browns football game played on the Centennial of the NFL’s founding. Buck was calling the game with partner TROY AIKMAN on NFL Network.

“Joe’s preparation for his games and his delivery in key moments of those games bring an added quality to the network’s production,” Baker continued. “Being named this year’s Rozelle Award winner is well-deserved recognition for over two decades of excellence in his craft. I know his dad would be proud.”

Buck, the lead play-by-play announcer for FOX Sports’ coverage of the National Football League, Major League Baseball and USGA coverage, has called six Super Bowls in his illustrious career, in addition to the past 20 World Series and 22 Fall Classics overall. His work has earned him seven Emmy Awards and numerous other accolades.

“Oh, my god. I don’t even know what to say,” an emotional Buck said on the air after receiving congratulations from Aikman, who called the honor for Buck “well earned.”

“That’s unbelievable,” Buck said.

Buck will be recognized during next summer’s Enshrinement Week Powered by Johnson Controls at the Enshrinees’ Gold Jacket Dinner on Friday, Aug. 6. He will be presented with the award formally during the Enshrinement of the Centennial Class of 2020 — STEVE ATWATER, ISAAC BRUCE, HAROLD CARMICHAEL, JIMBO COVERT, BILL COWHER, BOBBY DILLON, CLIFF HARRIS, WINSTON HILL, STEVE HUTCHINSON, EDGERRIN JAMES, JIMMY JOHNSON, ALEX KARRAS, TROY POLAMALU, STEVE SABOL, DONNIE SHELL, DUKE SLATER, MAC SPEEDIE, ED SPRINKLE, PAUL TAGLIABUE and GEORGE YOUNG — on Saturday, Aug. 7 at Tom Benson Hall of Fame Stadium.

Jack Buck, who similarly broadcast professional football (AFL and NFL) and baseball games, received the Rozelle Award in 1996.

Joe Buck became the lead announcer for FOX Sports’ coverage of the NFL in 2002. He has teamed with Aikman since 2005, forming the second longest-running broadcast partnership in League history, behind only Pat Summerall (1994 Rozelle Award winner) and JOHN MADDEN (2002 winner), who worked together for 22 seasons.

Prior to stepping into the lead role for FOX on its Sunday games (and Thursday nights), Buck hosted the top-rated “FOX NFL Sunday” pregame show and postgame show “The OT.” His career with FOX dates to the network’s inception in 1994. He and Tim Green, an eight-year NFL veteran, formed one of FOX’s original six broadcast teams, with Buck, then age 25, the youngest announcer to call a full slate of NFL games on network television.

He also hosted a talk show for HBO Sports, “Joe Buck Live,” in 2009, and “Undeniable with Joe Buck” on DirecTV’s Audience Network from 2015 to 2019.

Away from the microphone, Joe contributes his time and talent to several national and local charities. The annual Joe Buck Classic golf tournament has raised more than $5 million for St. Louis Children’s Hospital. Also noteworthy are his work with the Parkinson’s Foundation, City of Hope and the Mathews-Dickey Boys’ & Girls’ Club in St. Louis.

Halftime of Thursday night’s broadcast also included the public unveiling of 11 Player Pylons at Canton’s new Centennial Plaza. The pylons contain the names of all 25,488 players who appeared in an NFL game from the League’s inception through the 2019 season.


2019 – Dick Ebersol

2018 – Andrea Kremer

2017 – David Hill

2016 – James Brown

2015 – Tom Jackson

2014 – Bob Trumpy

2013 – Al Michaels

2012 – Len Dawson

2011 – Jim Nantz

2010 – Chris Berman

2009 – Irv Cross

2008 – Dan Dierdorf

2007 – Don Meredith

2006 – Lesley Visser

2005 – Myron Cope

2004 – Van Miller

2003 – Don Criqui

2002 – John Madden

2001 – Roone Arledge

2000 – Ray Scott

1999 – Dick Enberg

1998 – Val Pinchbeck

1997 – Charlie Jones

1996 – Jack Buck

1995 – Frank Gifford

1994 – Pat Summerall

1993 – Curt Gowdy

1992 – Chris Schenkel

1991 – Ed Sabol

1990 – Lindsey Nelson

1989 – Bill McPhail

About stlsportspage 2466 Articles
For the latest news and features in St. Louis Sports check out Rob Rains, Editor.