Kolten Wong wins first Gold Glove but other Cardinals finalists are shut out

By Rob Rains

After Kolten Wong made an outstanding play after another this season, it was predictable that someone on Twitter would write, “Give him the Gold Glove already.”

On Sunday night, he got it.

Wong was named the winner of the Rawlings Gold Glove for second basemen in the National League, coming out ahead of the other two finalists, Ozzie Albies of the Braves and Adam Frazier of the Pirates. It’s his first time to win the award.

The Cardinals had five other finalists at other positions – Jack Flaherty, Paul Goldschmidt, Paul DeJong, Yadier Molina and Harrison Bader – but none of them joined Wong as the winner of the award.

The annual award is voted on by coaches and managers of each of the National League teams, plus a sabermetric component. Coaches and managers are not permitted to vote for players on their own team.

Wong will be honored at the Gold Glove dinner on Friday night in New York.

Wong, who had been a finalist for the award last season, committed just nine errors in 671 total chances this season. His .987 fielding percentage actually was lower than that of both Albies and Frazier.

The NL Gold Glove at second base the last two seasons had been won by D.J. LeMahieu, then with the Rockies. The only other Cardinal to win the award at second base in the award’s history was Fernando Vina in 2002 and 2001.

Follow Rob Rains on Twitter @robrains

Photo by AP courtesy of KSDK Sports

About stlsportspage 2460 Articles
For the latest news and features in St. Louis Sports check out STLSportsPage.com. Rob Rains, Editor.